Landscape Design


Initiated in 1992, the Landscape Design Awards program recognizes design projects that are exemplary in use of herbaceous perennials to help create balanced and beautiful landscapes. The “after market” applications of our growers’ products and the design, installation, and maintenance of plants in gardens and natural settings are of special interest to the Perennial Plant Association. Both experienced and novice designers are invited to participate.

Each year, judges evaluate many outstanding landscape designs and select the most excellent entries based on the effectiveness of herbaceous perennial plant material used through the installation of new cultivars, color combinations, textures, and seasonal combinations.

The entries comprise 11 categories based on residential, commercial, educational, temporary/seasonal designs, and price of production.  The judges are professionals in the fields of horticulture and design.

Click here to download the Landscape Design Awards application. In light of COVID-19, the application deadline has been extended to April 15, 2020.


Previous Award Winners

1985 and 1986 –Alan Bloom and Adrian Bloom, Blooms of Bressingham Lmt., Diss, Norfolk,England, Helene von Zeppelin, von Zeppelin Nursery, Laufen, Germany, Jim Beam, Sunbeam Gardens, North Olmsted, Ohio, Henry Ross, Gardenview Horticultural Park, Strongsville, Ohio

1987 – Wolfgang Oehme, Oehme, VanSweden & Associates, Inc.,Washington DC

1988 – Robert Schreiner, Schreiner Iris Gardens, Salem, Oregon

1989 – Allen J. Wild, Gilbert H. Wild and Son Nursery, Sarcoxie, Missouri

1990 – Fred Galle, Calloway Gardens, Pine Mountain, Georgia

1991 – Dr. Currier McEwen, Seeway Gardens, South Harpswell, Maine

1992 – Jack Schultz, Springbrook Gardens, Mentor, Ohio & Dennis

Walters, Walters Gardens, Zeeland, Michigan

1994 – Dr. Richard Lighty, Mt. Cuba Center, Greenville, Delaware  

           Clif Russell, Russell Gardens, Richboro, Pennsylvania

1995 – Jim, Bob, and Dave Fleming, Fleming Nursery, Lincoln, Nebraska

1996 – Charles Wilson, Charles Wilson Company, Bainbridge, Washington

              Allen Rogers, Caprice Farm Nursery, Sherwood, Oregon

1997 – Klaus Jelitto, Jelitto Perennial Seeds, Hamburg, Germany

1998 – Pierre Bennerup, Sunny Border Nurseries, Inc., Kensington, Connecticut

1999 – Dr. Steven Still, Ohio State University, Hilliard, Ohio

2000 – Dr. Allan Armitage, University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia

2001 – Andre Viette, Andre Viette Farm & Nursery, Fishersville, Virginia

2002 – Harlan Hamernik, Bluebird Nursery, Inc., Clarkson, Nebraska

2003 – Kurt Bluemel, Kurt Bluemel, Inc., Baldwin, Maryland

2004 – Alfred H. Hicks, Hicks Nurseries, Inc., Westbury, New York

2005 – Sam and Carleen Jones, Piccadilly Farm LLC, Bishop, Georgia

2006 – Stephanie Cohen, Collegeville, Pennsylvania

2007 – George Pealer, Millcreek Gardens, Ostrander, Ohio

2008 – Roy Klehm, Song Sparrow Perennial Farm & Nursery, Avalon, Wisconsin

2009 – Dr. Darrell Apps, Garden Adventures, Wild Rose, Wisconsin

2010 – Dan Hinkley, Indianola, Washington

2011 – Allen Bush, Jelitto Perennial Seeds, Louisville, Kentucky

2012 – William Cullina, Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens, Boothbay, Maine

2013 – Tony Avent, Plant Delights Nursery Inc at Raleigh, North Carolina

2014 – Brian Minter, Minter Country Garden, Chilliwack, British Columbia

2015 – Oliver “Buzz” Babikow, Willow Street, Pennsylvania

2016 – Brent and Becky Heath, Brent and Becky’s Bulbs, Gloucester, Virginia

2017 – Dan Heims, Terra Nova Nurseries, Inc., Canby, Oregon

2018  – Bob Hruby | Campion Hruby Landscape Architects | Honor Award, level III, Mario Herrada | Zacate Landscape Design | Honor Award, level III, Nicholas Ries | Campion Hruby Landscape Architects | Honor Award, Level III, Eric D. Groft | Oehme, van Sweden | OvS | Honor Award, level IV

Contact Us